Sunday, April 19, 2009

Psh, I have no idea what to say

I think I have writer's block or something. I could sit here and write for an hour in this blog, but when it comes to my paper...nothing. It's really disheartening. I had so many ideas for this paper in the beginning and knew exactly what I wanted to do. However, as time goes on, it's as if all those ideas had never been thought of. I have all my main points and know what I could use to back them up. It’s hard to find sources and to make sure I don’t repeat myself. I am pretty much, working right off of my discovery draft. Well I guess it's time to look at it from a different angle, or even share my ideas with someone else. My rough draft isn't looking too good and I am running out of time. New topic- this weekend was actually sunny and had me in a good mood. Ha. I need to get to bed (semi early for once)

Random thought...I should totally be an editor because every time we have to do editing of rough drafts or reading over another person's essay, I thoroughly enjoy it. I get really into helping point out someones mistakes or what they can improve on and recognize their strong points. Man I am a NERD.

LOL such a random post, just me trying to generate ideas and jumpstart that writing process. and once again not going to bed like I should be

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Random rant

I don't really know what to blog about, but I do know that I am way too late and should probably try to get some rest. This week has been Greek Week and I haven't gone out once... so lame. I have actually been really studious lately— trying to bring up my GPA. My paper is coming along ok. I am trying to elaborate and develop my ideas more and more. (now that I think of it, I still need to post those sources) Anyway, speaking of my paper, I really feel that something needs to be done about late night food availability on this campus. See, it's 1:18 AM and of course I am hungry. It makes sense, the later you stay up, the more energy your body requires and the more food you eat. There are plenty of times I would hit up Wawa for their infamous Sizzli or flatbread wraps- very delish. But I am getting tired of it. I am always eating, because I love food, but a slice of pizza at night or brownies or chips and salsa at 2 in the morning cannot be healthy. If Sykes was open I could easily walk over and get a cereal cup. If Lawrence was open, maybe I could even get a late night omelets or just fruit. If more places were open on campus late at night, it would be safer for people to travel and get their food. (Let's be honest, it's safer to simply walk drunk to get food than driving drunk to Wawa or a fast food place in the early morn) Another thing about having more food places open late would be the advantage of having to use less gas. Like I said before, I stay up late on a regular basis and am ALWAYS hungry as a result of that. Therefore, I am constantly driving to Wawa to get food for me or my tipsy friends. Even if the food wasn't healthier than that at a fast food place, just the fact that Lawrence and Sykes is close on campus would attract more people to stay on campus at late hours and put more money back into our school. Not to mention, having food places close to the dorms would benefit all the lazy fatties out there like me. Well, I am off to eat my chicken honey mustard pizza slice I saved from earlier. I am a total night owl and never seem to get to bed at a reasonable time (but always fall asleep with a fully tummy). :-P

Monday, April 13, 2009

About Reading "Watergate Sue"/ Writing Process

So much for writing every other day! Wow, I wish we had at least one day off... could've used that Easter Monday today. Anyway, after reading "Watergate Sue", I decided to respond to one of the questions posted near it. "What might Eve be thinking in the last box?" To me, Eve seemed rather content smoking her cigarette. I don't know exactly what the author wanted the reader to infer from the last box but Eve seemed to be reflecting upon something. Divorce can be a hard thing to accept, I don't know first hand but I have many friends with divorced parents. My best friend's mom was going through a divorce last year and she was always talking to us about it through the whole process. Eve might be reminiscing about the good ole' days with her husband in the last photo. Maybe she misses him, maybe she wonders why they ever parted ways, maybe she is just reflecting on the times that they shared and were happy together. To me, it seems like in most cases, no one ever really wants a divorce. I feel that people should talk it out more or try to really work through it...however I do know some relationships just aren't meant to be. Early last semester, my friend had informed me, that her mom went back with her ex. My friend was enraged and I was shocked. Her mom really had tried to make it work, but her ex made her life hell the whole time. I will never understand why certain people stay together; I haven't been in a situation like that. However, like Eve, I guess it's appropriate to find the good in everyone. As for my writing process, everything seems to be coming along ok. I have a really good essay topic and really want to make sure I have the right amount of sources for it. I did well on the last essay, by showing the counterarguments and fighting against them. However, a problem solutions essay, to me, is a little bit harder. I want to make sure that my solutions are feasible for my problem. I did a problem/solution essay last semester, but in a group. It was easy to identify the problem, but coming up with solutions that weren't too outrageous was the hardest part. It all comes back to my sources... I have to have data to support my claims. Hopefully, everything will work itself out. I have been enjoying this class and I feel I have really grown as a writer throughout this semester.

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Response to Fatherhood 2.0

So... I pretty much forgot that I even had a blog and have decided that each night or at least every other one, I will write a response to our assigned readings so I can catch up to the required amount. Ha it's late, but I'm bored and avoiding other homework assignments. In response to the Fatherhood 2.0 article- I think it's great that fathers are becoming more involved in their children’s lives. My dad and I are closer than me and my mom and I really appreciate all I have learned from him (as well as my mom :-P). Having a father figure around is important for sons learning how to become real man. Fathers can show their sons how to take responsibility for their actions and how to be gentlemen. Fathers can teach daughters how to be independent and not rely on looks but on their brains. Without a father figure around there are so many things that a child would miss out on learning. Do I think it takes a real man to be a father? Of course I do. A real man can give up a night of boozing with the boys for a night of staying home; watching animated movies with the kids or attending their games and recitals. Whenever I go home for the weekend, my dad and I always manage to watch at least one movie together. It's the one little thing we always do and it means so much to me. It may seem silly, but just the fact that he's enjoying something with me really makes me feel great. Imagine being a little child and missing out on that one parent being around to share in life's joyous moments with. Fathers (parents in general) don't realize it, but their actions hugely impact the behavior of their child. I guess I may seem like I am rambling on, but all I have to say is that it was a good idea to write the Fatherhood 2.0 article. The article shined some light upon the fact that it's ok for fathers to be that "stay at home mom" because in the end all that matters is that they were there for their child. Attention and love is all a child ever really needs when they are developing.