I think I have writer's block or something. I could sit here and write for an hour in this blog, but when it comes to my paper...nothing. It's really disheartening. I had so many ideas for this paper in the beginning and knew exactly what I wanted to do. However, as time goes on, it's as if all those ideas had never been thought of. I have all my main points and know what I could use to back them up. It’s hard to find sources and to make sure I don’t repeat myself. I am pretty much, working right off of my discovery draft. Well I guess it's time to look at it from a different angle, or even share my ideas with someone else. My rough draft isn't looking too good and I am running out of time. New topic- this weekend was actually sunny and had me in a good mood. Ha. I need to get to bed (semi early for once)
Random thought...I should totally be an editor because every time we have to do editing of rough drafts or reading over another person's essay, I thoroughly enjoy it. I get really into helping point out someones mistakes or what they can improve on and recognize their strong points. Man I am a NERD.
LOL such a random post, just me trying to generate ideas and jumpstart that writing process. and once again not going to bed like I should be
Sunday, April 19, 2009
Wednesday, April 15, 2009
Random rant
I don't really know what to blog about, but I do know that I am way too late and should probably try to get some rest. This week has been Greek Week and I haven't gone out once... so lame. I have actually been really studious lately— trying to bring up my GPA. My paper is coming along ok. I am trying to elaborate and develop my ideas more and more. (now that I think of it, I still need to post those sources) Anyway, speaking of my paper, I really feel that something needs to be done about late night food availability on this campus. See, it's 1:18 AM and of course I am hungry. It makes sense, the later you stay up, the more energy your body requires and the more food you eat. There are plenty of times I would hit up Wawa for their infamous Sizzli or flatbread wraps- very delish. But I am getting tired of it. I am always eating, because I love food, but a slice of pizza at night or brownies or chips and salsa at 2 in the morning cannot be healthy. If Sykes was open I could easily walk over and get a cereal cup. If Lawrence was open, maybe I could even get a late night omelets or just fruit. If more places were open on campus late at night, it would be safer for people to travel and get their food. (Let's be honest, it's safer to simply walk drunk to get food than driving drunk to Wawa or a fast food place in the early morn) Another thing about having more food places open late would be the advantage of having to use less gas. Like I said before, I stay up late on a regular basis and am ALWAYS hungry as a result of that. Therefore, I am constantly driving to Wawa to get food for me or my tipsy friends. Even if the food wasn't healthier than that at a fast food place, just the fact that Lawrence and Sykes is close on campus would attract more people to stay on campus at late hours and put more money back into our school. Not to mention, having food places close to the dorms would benefit all the lazy fatties out there like me. Well, I am off to eat my chicken honey mustard pizza slice I saved from earlier. I am a total night owl and never seem to get to bed at a reasonable time (but always fall asleep with a fully tummy). :-P
Monday, April 13, 2009
About Reading "Watergate Sue"/ Writing Process
So much for writing every other day! Wow, I wish we had at least one day off... could've used that Easter Monday today. Anyway, after reading "Watergate Sue", I decided to respond to one of the questions posted near it. "What might Eve be thinking in the last box?" To me, Eve seemed rather content smoking her cigarette. I don't know exactly what the author wanted the reader to infer from the last box but Eve seemed to be reflecting upon something. Divorce can be a hard thing to accept, I don't know first hand but I have many friends with divorced parents. My best friend's mom was going through a divorce last year and she was always talking to us about it through the whole process. Eve might be reminiscing about the good ole' days with her husband in the last photo. Maybe she misses him, maybe she wonders why they ever parted ways, maybe she is just reflecting on the times that they shared and were happy together. To me, it seems like in most cases, no one ever really wants a divorce. I feel that people should talk it out more or try to really work through it...however I do know some relationships just aren't meant to be. Early last semester, my friend had informed me, that her mom went back with her ex. My friend was enraged and I was shocked. Her mom really had tried to make it work, but her ex made her life hell the whole time. I will never understand why certain people stay together; I haven't been in a situation like that. However, like Eve, I guess it's appropriate to find the good in everyone. As for my writing process, everything seems to be coming along ok. I have a really good essay topic and really want to make sure I have the right amount of sources for it. I did well on the last essay, by showing the counterarguments and fighting against them. However, a problem solutions essay, to me, is a little bit harder. I want to make sure that my solutions are feasible for my problem. I did a problem/solution essay last semester, but in a group. It was easy to identify the problem, but coming up with solutions that weren't too outrageous was the hardest part. It all comes back to my sources... I have to have data to support my claims. Hopefully, everything will work itself out. I have been enjoying this class and I feel I have really grown as a writer throughout this semester.
Wednesday, April 8, 2009
Response to Fatherhood 2.0
So... I pretty much forgot that I even had a blog and have decided that each night or at least every other one, I will write a response to our assigned readings so I can catch up to the required amount. Ha it's late, but I'm bored and avoiding other homework assignments. In response to the Fatherhood 2.0 article- I think it's great that fathers are becoming more involved in their children’s lives. My dad and I are closer than me and my mom and I really appreciate all I have learned from him (as well as my mom :-P). Having a father figure around is important for sons learning how to become real man. Fathers can show their sons how to take responsibility for their actions and how to be gentlemen. Fathers can teach daughters how to be independent and not rely on looks but on their brains. Without a father figure around there are so many things that a child would miss out on learning. Do I think it takes a real man to be a father? Of course I do. A real man can give up a night of boozing with the boys for a night of staying home; watching animated movies with the kids or attending their games and recitals. Whenever I go home for the weekend, my dad and I always manage to watch at least one movie together. It's the one little thing we always do and it means so much to me. It may seem silly, but just the fact that he's enjoying something with me really makes me feel great. Imagine being a little child and missing out on that one parent being around to share in life's joyous moments with. Fathers (parents in general) don't realize it, but their actions hugely impact the behavior of their child. I guess I may seem like I am rambling on, but all I have to say is that it was a good idea to write the Fatherhood 2.0 article. The article shined some light upon the fact that it's ok for fathers to be that "stay at home mom" because in the end all that matters is that they were there for their child. Attention and love is all a child ever really needs when they are developing.
Thursday, February 12, 2009
Overdue response to Daly's article
Before I read Daly's I looked at the "before you read" question box and answer a few of the questions for myself. Both my parents are Jamaican, born and raised. However, when I asked them about our family history and traced back up the bark of our family tree...I realized there was a lot more to us than our Caribbean background. My great grandmother is Cuban, my great grandfather was Syrian, and there is even some Scottish and Mexican in our roots. To me it's so interesting to see that my family is so diverse. When I began to read article, I thought it was interesting that so many students were curious about their backgrounds and racial makeup. One part of the article that stood out to me, right at first glance, was the quote that some kids wanted to be part black. The quote shows just how much the generations have differed. Years ago, blacks were out casted and oppressed in history and now people want to have part of that color in them to be part of the culture. Just from my personal experiences and conversations in high school, I have heard a handful of people talk about how they wish they could be black. One guy I knew wanted to be black for basketball. He was in awe of the "natural skill and talent" black basket ball players all seemed to attain. Another girl, I actually met her this year, raved how she wanted to be black because it's "cool". Ha, when she told me that I had to laugh a little. I guess it doesn't matter what you genetic makeup says you are it only depends on how you choose to act. Just like the person in the article who found out they were part white... that shouldn't have any effect on their current lifestyle and it didn't.
Tuesday, January 27, 2009
Ultimate therapy... more like the ultimate bad idea
When I began reading the article "Ultimate Therapy: Commercial Eugenics in the 21st Century," I should have known it was something I would highly disagree with. There are few things that I can say I truly 100% stand by, unwavering to persuasion and debate, but human originality is definitely one of them. I have always believed that people should embrace who they are, loved for not only their outer appearance but for their inner beauty. If a woman becomes pregnant with a child she knows will inherit Downs Syndrome, is it really that bad if she decides to keep the baby? I feel like there is a reason behind everything and if the child were to be born disabled there is a reason for it. Sure, it sounds like a good idea. I am not arguing that genetic engineering technology is completely a bad thing- it's great that in future years we will have a resource to combat against disease and accelerate the natural healing process. However, I am saying that, this is my personal belief; to alter an embryo could be viewed as morally wrong. We should love our children no matter what...right? I feel it's not right to alter that "person" for what they were about to become. It's similar to the research behind being able to pick what sex your baby is, by giving it a specific shot in the early stages of development. I feel we shouldn't do it. Why should our generation be able to create all these perfect humans; creatures that soon become clones, because most will want the perfect child. I don't see the need to "improve" anything with the human race today. We can learn so much about our brains and bodies by disabilities, by challenges. As far as curing diseases and healing the mute, genetic engineering research may become a great advancement in our world.
Tuesday, January 20, 2009
Facebook undermines the basics of societal communication ha idk
Is human contact dwindling as we speak? In the article, "Facebook: Why I Love It...” the author explores the advantages to using this online network and blog. As I read through the composition I found myself agreeing with many of the arguments the writer conveyed. Facebook definitely eliminates time required in making plans with friends, and also helps us keep up to date with those "not so close" acquaintances. However, these advantages can also be viewed as negative attributes of the "social network". Now with a simple status change we can alert people that we are busy or in a bad mood. No longer do we need to call up friends and complain that we have no time to talk; instead we avoid phone calls altogether. Wondering what a significant other is up to? All we have to do to keep tabs on others is "creep" through their profile photos and learn what they did and who they hung out with during the past week. I hate to admit it, but I have been trapped into the Facebook frenzy. There are no more phone calls being made, no more polite "how have you been doing" questions, and no more face to face contact with regards to making plans. Facebook makes us lazy. We sit on it for hours at a time and learn all we need to know about random people connected to us via our close friends. I could tell you where someone was and what party they were at and not even know what school they go to...much less remember their first name. Conversing and socializing with people helps us to learn more about others and ourselves. If we based our relationships on merely an internet connection, we'd be handicapping our natural abilities to converse. We would be limiting our instinct to understand, emphasize, and relate with others. We also avoid conflict, by limiting what we say and how often we see people in real life situations. Overall, I can see the advantages of Facebook, but have come to wonder whether or not it is really beneficial to life as it may seem.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
